facebook pixel
  • Deposit: $520
  • Minimum stay: 4 weeks
  • Meals: Breakfast, Dinner
  • Internet: Yes
  • Smoking: No
  • Can pickup airport?: No
  • House has pets?: No
  • Available from: 01 Jan 2022
  • Available to: 31 Dec 2022
  • Guests: Students, Travellers, Workers
Our house is in a fantastic location in Graceville. It is about 150m from the train station. The city is seven stops away. The bus stop is about the same distance from the house. It is very easy to get to the city, University of Queensland and Griffith University from this location.

We are very close to the Honour Avenue shops which boast 15 restaurants, a butcher, grocer, small supermarket, movie theatre, CBA bank etc etc. Indooroopilly Shopping town is 2 stations away. Sherwood Woolworths is one stop away.

This is a wonderful location. The area boasts beautiful old, original timber Queenslander houses about 100 years old. We have three rooms available.

1. Has a beautiful timber single bed
2. This is a large room which is only available for short term accommodation as we also use it as our guest room for family. It has a very comfortable Queen bed.
3. This room can be configured for different uses. There are 2 King single beds in this room which can be zipped together to accommodate a couple or 2 wanting to share a large room. When zipped together these beds make a King bed.

Please note that the fee of $260/week is for single usage.

We started having home stay students 20 years ago when our children were 11, 9, 7, and 5 as we thought it was important to expose them to many different cultures from around the enjoyed it very much and decided to continue after our children left home as we really enjoy the vibrancy that young people bring.

(Heather was born in Papua New Guinea and lived there until she was 20. She has experienced being an obvious stranger in a foreign country.) Heather is a Secondary School teacher, teaching Legal Studies and Business subjects. Eddie is in sales. However, he completed a TESOL training course some years ago. The longest student we had with us stayed for 5 years. Heather plays the piano and does family history when time allows. Eddie likes to play golf on the weekend.

Our youngest child went overseas at the age of 17 for 4 years to study. So we have some appreciation of the hardships faced by students in a foreign country as well as those faced by their parents.

Verification

  • Featured member since 03 May 2022
  • Phone verified

Contact

Places Nearby

  • Brisbane City

    is 9 km away (20 mins by train)
  • University of Queensland

    is 6 km away (30 mins by train)
  • Southbank

    is 10 km away (25 mins by train)
  • Indooroopilly Shopping Town

    is 2 km away (5 mins by train)
  • Sherwood Driving Testing Centre

    is 1 km away (2 mins by train)
  • Griffith University

    is 10 km away (40 mins by bus)

Similar Hosts